Pea and Bacon Soup


I have been making Pea Soup since forever!  At least twice a week in winter, you’ll find a pot of pea soup slowly simmering away on my stove.  I prefer not to overcook the veggies and I don’t ever purée my soup… Really,  who started this liquidising thing anyway?  What’s so wrong with a few coarse pieces of  carrots and celery.  It can only add to the look, taste and texture!

I never fed my kids Purity as babies.  I simply alternated pea soup with different veggies and as they grew older,  I added different meats.   Smoked ham,  bacon or even gammon.   In today’s recipe I’ve used bacon, but you can replace this with a few slices of ham or a piece of gammon – quantity is entirely up to taste…

Celery and Soup, always a winning combination! Start growing some NOW!

You Need

1 packet Bacon, chopped

1 large Onion chopped

2 carrots, roughly chopped

2 Stalks Celery washed and chopped

2 Cloves Garlic peeled, sliced thinly

2 cups dried split peas

8 cups chicken  stock

1 teaspoon fresh rosemary leafs

Salt & Pepper

 

 

What to Do

  • Fry the chopped bacon, the cut carrots, celery, onions and garlic in a large pot.  Season lightly with salt and pepper.

  • Cook over medium heat for 8 – 10 minutes until the onions are translucent and slightly brown in colour.

Carrots, Celery, Onions, Garlic and Bacon fried together.

  • Add the chicken stock and split peas and bring to boil.

  • Simmer  until the soup is thick and the peas are completely soft.  This can take up to 3 hours. Stir occasionally.

  • Add the rosemary right at the end –  cooking it through for about 10min.

  • Garnish with parsley and enjoy!

Needless to say, hot bread(click here for my mushroom and olive bread recipe), thickly spread with butter, really makes this soup irresistible.

And MOST IMPORTANT – Do NoT eVeR,  even if you grow old and ugly,  Forget to open up a good bottle of red to go with this delicious meal!!!!

Thick and creamy, garnished with freshly picked parsley and some bacon pieces.

This entry was posted in Recipes, Soup and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pea and Bacon Soup

  1. kat says:

    That looks really tasty! I love anything with bacon in it haha. Thanks for sharing! I’m still trying to get the hang of blogging here and I just love how supportive and creative everyone is! If you have time, could you please check out my blog? http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/ I would love some advice and feedback 🙂

    • delikadent says:

      Had a look at your blog – nothing you need advice on! I like the amount of pictures you use – as a creative person I eat with my eyes first,
      but don’t we all!!? Will keep an eye on you!

Leave a comment